Ratings based on 611 verified reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
AirAsiaGo-verified reviews
1 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Surrey

Posted Jun 19, 2019 on Expedia
Whilst the rooms are quirky and clean, they are very dated. We also had an awful experience at breakfast. Having been directed to have breakfast in the cloisters which was clearly set out for a wedding party, we checked 3 times as to whether we should actually be there as we were not part of the wedding, even checking with reception. We were very definitely told yes that's where we should eat. We felt uncomfortable from the outset but started our breakfast. Whilst eating we were approached by the angry parents of the bride/groom and told in no uncertain terms to leave and then asked to leave by the waitress. We felt we had no option but to abandon our breakfasts and indeed lost our appetite as it was all very unpleasant. We have some sympathy with the wedding party as despite us checking 3 times with various members of the hotel's staff we should not have been there and we understand they had also experienced other problems during/after the wedding which was also held at the hotel. We spoke to the hotel duty manager who offered us a free stay which we are not minded to take as there are better hotels and our stay was spoiled. The hotels final offer has been to refund the cost of our breakfast, which indeed was only eaten in part before the distressing episode.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2019 by Coombe Abbey Hotel, Hotel Management
We are truly sorry for the experience you had on this occasion. We really would like to extend the invitation to stay again so that we can be given the opportunity to show our usual high levels of service.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Birmingham

Posted Jun 16, 2019 on Expedia
Lovely grounds, amazing restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Will go again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2019 by Coombe Abbey Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you had a great stay.
2 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted Jun 14, 2019 on Expedia
Unfortunately never got to stay due to a family emergency- on notifying the hotel reservations department they were not in the least bit bothered by our situation. Very disappointing as we could not get a refund so would have at least expected some sympathy
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2019 by Coombe Abbey Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, I'm sorry that you were unsatisfied with our response to your situation and we will investigate this further.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted Jun 12, 2019 on Expedia
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2019 by Coombe Abbey Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted Jun 11, 2019 on Expedia
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2019 by Coombe Abbey Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted Jun 6, 2019 on Expedia
A lovely stay, Staff were very professional and polite. very helpful. service was a little disorganized and food in the bar took a long time to arrive however this was down to miss-communication to the kitchen. Room was very comfortable and clean, however lamp shades were dusty and had a few lamps blown...nothing major and overall was very good. Food was lovely but a little overpriced for the portion sizes offered but it was fine dining. lack of dress code was actually relaxing for a change and I applaud this as it gave a relaxed feeling after a long day at work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2019 by Coombe Abbey Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted Jun 5, 2019 on Expedia
This hotel is truly unique. It has an almost “hogwarts” feeling in the main hotel reception. The bedrooms are decorated in medival style and the grounds are large and very beautiful - ideal for walking. The garden room restaurant is a huge beautiful conservatory. The bar area is informal and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2019 by Coombe Abbey Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for such a wonderful review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted Jun 4, 2019 on Expedia
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2019 by Coombe Abbey Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted Jun 4, 2019 on Expedia
For the cost, room should have included breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2019 by Coombe Abbey Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we do always offer rates available with breakfast included, alongside our Room Only rates.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Kilkenny

Posted Jun 3, 2019 on Expedia
Fantastic experience. Old world charm. Very accommodating when we arrived at 12:20am to check in after being delayed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2019 by Coombe Abbey Hotel, Hotel Management
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon.